Best Certified Scrum Master (CSM) Certification in 2024

Welcome to PremierAgile!

Recognized for 'Outstanding Leadership in Education and Learning' by the Education 2.0 Conference Dubai 2024

We are proudly recognized for Excellence in Agile Consulting and Transformation Services – 2023 by Economic Times and Times of India!

*Avail a Flat 10% Discount Across all our certification courses use coupon code AGILE10

*Avail Zero Interest EMI

We Offer World-class guidance to transform yourself as well as your organizations

Mega Offer! Access our Advanced courses for  just 21,999/- +Taxes


With an objective to enable continuous learning and progression for our learners, PremierAgile curated several learning articles in the areas of Agile, Scrum, Product Ownership, Scaling, Agile Leadership, Tools & Frameworks, latest market trends, new innovations etc...

Which is Best Certified Scrum Master (CSM) Certification? All You Need To Know In 2024

Which is Best Certified Scrum Master (CSM) Certification? All You Need To Know In 2024

Are you excited to become a Certified Scrum Master? Your journey begins with choosing the best Scrum Master certification in India. Well, we agree that there are a couple of options available in the market, including:

  • Certified Scrum Master (CSM) certification 
  • SAFe Scrum Master (SSM) certification
  • Professional Scrum Master (PSM) certification

But which one is the best for you? Which certification can help you upscale your Agile Scrum skillset? Selecting an ideal certification becomes pivotal for professionals seeking growth and success as an Agile Leader of 2024. So, let us help you choose the best option!

Keep reading as we compare the certification details so that you make the right decision.

An Overview Of Certified Scrum Master (CSM) Certification:

While we debate which CSM certification is best for Scrum Master, let’s review the details of Scrum Alliance CSM certification. It stands as the most in-demand Scrum Certification. Rooted in a 2-day Scrum Master Training Course, the CSM certification has the best curriculum to teach attendees about Scrum and Agile principles.

Who Should Attend The Scrum Alliance CSM Certification?

The Certified ScrumMaster (CSM) certification is ideal for Scrum Masters, Software Engineers, Business Analysts, Project Managers, new Scrum Team Members and any organizational leaders. This course provides foundational Scrum knowledge applicable across industries. 

You can continuously progress with advanced certifications like the Advanced Certified Scrum Master and Certified Scrum Professional certification. You can also join the Scrum Alliance community and learn from the global practitioners. 

click here to view Scrum Alliance CSM certification details.

An Overview Of SAFe 4.0 Scrum Master (SSM) Certification:

Scaled Agile's SAFe 4.0 Scrum Master certification uniquely aligns itself with the broader Scaled Agile Framework (SAFe). Designed for those new to the Scrum Master role or transitioning to a SAFe environment, the SSM certification emphasizes practical tools and leadership skills.

SSM has gained popularity for its scaling practices to enterprise levels, especially among individuals transitioning to SAFe environments. The certification includes an advanced level, SAFe 4.0 Advanced Scrum Master (SASM), catering to those seeking a deeper understanding and applicable skills.

An Overview Of Professional Scrum Master (PSM) Certification:

Offered by, the Professional Scrum Master (PSM) certification places a strong emphasis on knowledge and understanding based on the Scrum Guide. Unlike CSM, attendance at an official training course is not mandatory, providing flexibility for candidates. 

PSM offers three levels: PSM I, II, and III. Each level signifies a progressively more profound understanding of Scrum principles, with the highest level demonstrating comprehensive knowledge and application in team and organizational settings.

With a comparable price to CSM courses, PSM provides a cost-effective alternative for those confident in their Scrum knowledge. Free resources, including the Scrum Guide and Open Assessment, enable candidates to evaluate their readiness for the actual exam.

Is CSM Better than SSM or PSM? Understanding The Main Differences:

As we debate which CSM certification is best, let’s compare the three main certifications for tomorrow’s Scrum Masters. We will compare the core differences based on the following factors:

1. Professional Growth vs. Recognition

The choice between CSM, SSM, and PSM often hinges on individual priorities. As the longest-standing and most recognized certification, CSM is favored for its widespread acknowledgment. However, SSM and PSM gain traction for their perceived value in professional development, with a focus on practical application and knowledge depth.

2. Cost Considerations

While PSM may offer a cost-effective route for those confident in their Scrum knowledge, CSM remains valuable in terms of popularity, acceptance & the pricing. The decision may depend on the balance between budget constraints and the perceived value of the certification.

3. Organizational Alignment

Employers and organizations may have specific preferences, so aligning your choice with their requirements is essential. The organizational context, including the Agile environment and goals, is crucial in determining the most suitable certification.

Final Thoughts: Choosing The Most Suitable Certification

So, which CSM certification is best in India? The most suitable accreditation is not just a title; it's a commitment to advancing your Agile Skillset. The decision ultimately rests on aligning individual and organizational goals with the strengths of each certification. While CSM offers a solid foundation and recognition, SSM and PSM provide avenues for practical application and in-depth knowledge. Now, it’s your turn to decide!




Is a passionate learner and blogger on Agile, Scrum and Scaling areas. She has been following and practicing these areas for several years and now converting those experiences into useful articles for your continuous learning.